My (intellectual) baggage was stolen!

23 Feb

I’ve been robbed, and I feel great.

The thieves took off with my bag when I had my back turned: I returned from the ticket counter to find my heart-felt green bag gone without a trace. I looked for a while that it may turn up again, but no luck. With it goes a mini laptop, 4 moleskine notebooks and datebook, a few packs of cards… etc. While nothing was too valuable, it means all of my record of being here has vanished without a trace. (And my glasses, which I do kinda need..)

After the tragedy though, I am left with an interesting sentiment. In the hazards of trying to understand everything I can here, I had gotten caught in my little books. They were a great reference for anything I needed, but now I am without the intellectual restraint- free. The eagle soars again, this time with a new worldview and only his wits to survive.

I challenge you to go for one day without one thing you take for granted. A blackberry, watch or car keys, even a ring. What’s left of the world is indeed refreshing and new again.
Look for more to come soon.
-Eddie Miller
Costa Rica
https://eddiemill.wordpress.com/

4 Responses to “My (intellectual) baggage was stolen!”

  1. Edward D. Miller February 27, 2009 at 4:43 am #

    it’s unfortunate that so many poor folk in the world these days see Nortenos as easy, rich targets to rob; it didn’t used to be that way. In the 70’s and 80’s Americans could travel quite cheaply and safely, and the USA was quite well-respected.

    But travel has always been ripe with adversity . . . such as learning to do without things that one takes for granted, eg. hot showers or good food. And from adversity we learn precious lessons.

    I highly recommend everyone fast from solid food a few days each year, just to learn that we can get by just fine even though we’re hungry; we don’t really NEED many of the things we think we do.

  2. Alex Bernson March 29, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    so I haven’t been reading the blog as much as I should, because I suck and also for a few good reasons. But that sucks that your stuff got stolen, even if you did find good perspective in it.

    You might like this article, it has some of the same ideas in it: http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/young-poor-lucky/Content?oid=1192393

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contents « A Global Organic Mindset - December 23, 2009

    […] Anda Tranquilo: Nicaragua-3/27/2009 Into the Wild (Weekend Away with Nietzche)-3/14/2009 My “intellectual” Baggage was Stolen!-2/23/2009 “Culture Shock”-2/8/2009 In Defense of the Word.-12/17/2008 A Day in the […]

  2. Master Index: EddieMill.blog « A Global Organic Mindset - April 23, 2012

    […] Anda Tranquilo: Nicaragua-3/27/2009 Into the Wild (Weekend Away with Nietzche)-3/14/2009 My “intellectual” Baggage was Stolen!-2/23/2009 “Culture Shock”-2/8/2009 In Defense of the Word.-12/17/2008 A Day in the […]

Leave a Reply

