Julio

28 Apr

Check out the crazy new format! Inspired by twitter (follow me: http://twitter.com/eddiemill/), let me know what you think of it. Do you have time to read long posts?

Today’s post is about Julio, the man with the most beautiful farm in the world, my good friend and co-founder of a model farm that will change the world.

Julio is a person who strikes you as a little odd at first. He is short: only 5’2,5’3 perhaps, and walks with the energy of a child. His enthusiasm sometimes borders on childish delight at seeing a frog/bird in the forest/farm, and his curiosity is either intriguing or maddening depending on your patience. However, he makes a farm manager like you never saw, poring tireless hours into scheduling crop rotations, periodic fertilization, and new experiments across his hefty 4.5 hectare farm. The work shows, as the farm takes on the lively character of it’s owner. I will upload a picture here if I get the chance, but you really have to see to appreciate how 80 different cultivated crops can fit on a land so small. (aka come visit me someday 🙂

The other really special thing about Julio is that he understands. A dedicated farmer will know his place in the system, know his market, and the land. Julio takes things one step further by being able to interpret the cultural environment and dream. I found out last time I visited that, after I left, he had begun working on a model farm and greenhouse for the people. “People can do this,” he says, “and feed themselves off of the land”. It’s a bit different perspective: I see that diversified organic is ripe to take over the world once a few institutional barriers are taken down, he sees an education movement. He’s my guy for maintenence, field education, tours, and startup seed. My cofounder and friend, what a good guy is Julio.

Oh and one last story: I have recently taken to slacklining between trees around campus and on the beach. (wiki) For those of you who haven’t seen me do it before, it’s like a streched nylon tightrope 3-5 feet above the ground. It’s quite Zen actually… you should try when the chance comes. (I can’t wait to try it in Boston parks there!) Anyways, I was just on my way over the mountains when I realized I had forgot to bring it to the farm– and it would be perfect there! Little did I have to fear though, as Julio actually had one of his own..

Now is that synergy or what? A project and a hobby and a passion. It’s great to be alive.
-Ed

PS. Will actually be motorcycle travelling 5 days with Julio to see organic farm and “agroecotourism” projects in Eastern Costa Rica between May 8-13th. Wish me luck, and you better believe I’ll put my findings up here!

-Ed
https://eddiemill.wordpress.com/
(now all twitter-like!)

2 Responses to “Julio”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contents « A Global Organic Mindset - December 23, 2009

    […] a Business Mentality- 11/16/2009 Food and Climate Change-10/3/2009 The Community Reality-6/11/2009 Julio- 4/28/2009 International Assessment on Agricultural Knowledge, Science, Technology and […]

  2. Master Index: EddieMill.blog « A Global Organic Mindset - April 23, 2012

    […] a Business Mentality- 11/16/2009 Food and Climate Change-10/3/2009 The Community Reality-6/11/2009 Julio- 4/28/2009 International Assessment on Agricultural Knowledge, Science, Technology and […]

Leave a Reply

