A million little pieces: and building the art of perfection.

1 Dec

OH, BOSTON!

For those who can’t tell from the blog post history, I’m just about getting grounded here. Adjusting to Boston is hard, and adjusting to being [anonymous] again after a long sojourn in [Costa Rica] proved even harder. I came in lagging behind technology and friendships, which lost me the competitive edge at [Small Planet]. Most of my files for [Massachusetts Power Shift] are [lost in Panama], my [paid radio advertisements] there never returned results. But: despite technology, work, and communications failure, this has been one of my best semesters yet.

How? A hundred little failures means another year out of personal recession; another year avoided the mainstream dullness of small talk and classes, and a new resiliency that proceeds with the confidence of experience. Confidence, and decision making. Upon personal failure, one learns a perspective of infinite possibility and creativity. (as anyone who’s been [searching for a job] can attest.) Join me, for a post that is both revelatory and informing, revolutionary in a word and inspiring in its clarity.. What’s wrong and powerful reframes.

Technology
You hear it all the time: people are more “distant” these days, people are always rushed here; unfriendly; no real connection, easily distracted.. and becoming more so. It’s a glassy-eyed haze that has decended over the city, and I’m wondering if I dare enter and work from within it. Coming from pura vida [Costa Rica], my own set of technology (travel netbook and old laptop) was grossly unprepared for the frontlines of Boston. This new one (HP 10.1 from Verizon, running Ubuntu and Google Chromius) has been a good workhorse, though.

I guess my work with technology could be described as from the edge of new media, not as content consumer but as producer and influencer of trend. I manage a few twitter accounts regularly, you can follow me at http://twitter.com/eddiemill or add @Stepitup09, and @NewEntry (new project!) for clean energy or farm updates. I use facebook, but will skip the “social” front-page news to work on my farmville, a beautiful organic coffee farm. Has all this technology brought me closer to my goals? Probably not, as it’s alienated the only girl I love, but I hope that by finally having control over technology that it does not control me. It’s been proven to be good social capital ..

Political Frustration
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/24/science/earth/24climate.html

This party feud is silly. Environment stands a chance, if health care moves on or goes to hell before December. I hope to god that Clean Energy can pass. The urgency of the situation isn’t dire yet, but it will be in 10-15 years without action. It’s a test of human capacity to act on something where [impacts- Hansen article] are largely still unknown. But, it’s also good for the Economy. My work in the #StepItUp movement says the key to our messaging, lobbying, and activist efforts are in clean energy stimulus plans. After all, do you want a job in energy efficiency, sustainability, or reducing the impact of Capitalism? #Cop15 Copenhagen represents a chance… visit their [Youtube site: http://bit.ly/TfpEa] to learn and get involved: http://bit.ly/TfpEa [link]

Communications
SJSF has really got me down. Every time I work on a message that will be really effective, I get an email in my inbox saying that I don’t have the right to speak for the group. Communications, that which was one of the foundational pillars of human society has been lost from the heart. In a time of struggle, we need real meetings, real listening, being together just for fun, small talk and social circles. Strained through technology and the heirarchy, it loses it’s appeal. In an end to this section and post, I’ll reference you to something I found useful: Communication and leadership. It’s an online version of my reading in Paul Farmer, May You be the Mother of 100 Sons, and Barack Obama, trying to be a Leader.

A leader needs his people support. Thanks for reading!
What have I learned?
Flexibility,
getting one hundred things half-right
flexibility
best practices
hard lessons
Getting the small things right:
inner peace
clear eyes
clear mind, reset once a day
Health:
whole foods
cooking
the joy of healthiness
yoga
mindfulness meditation
Respect
language
context
business
system
..all but my superiors.

Home: https://eddiemill.wordpress.com/
Facebook: http://facebook.com/eddiemill
-Eddie Miller
BU ’10 440-935-5434L

4 Responses to “A million little pieces: and building the art of perfection.”

  1. Lakeisha June 1, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    I blog often and I really appreciate your information. The article has really
    peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for
    new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  2. Hugegenic Male July 10, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Greetings from California! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contents « A Global Organic Mindset - December 23, 2009

    […] Journal “A Million Little Pieces”-12/01/2009 My Life at Small Planet-10/02/2009 If I was..-9/15/2009 Back in Boston- 9/08/2009 […]

  2. Master Index: EddieMill.blog « A Global Organic Mindset - April 23, 2012

    […] Journal “A Million Little Pieces”-12/01/2009 My Life at Small Planet-10/02/2009 If I was..-9/15/2009 Back in Boston- 9/08/2009 […]

Leave a Reply

